locationthe luggage storedateTHURSDAY, NOVEMBER 2, 2006, 8-10pm



The Misspelled Thing
Philip Greenlief – Sax
Matt Davingon – Drum Machine
and a shadowed individual of mystery

The Flip Quartet, featuring Suki OKane, Lucio Menegon, Theresa Wong, and Moe! Staiano, performing a composition by Polly Moller.
The four improvisers will explore the four cardinal directions (north/east/south/west) and their medieval elemental correspondences
(earth/air/fire/water) using objects, instruments, and text.

The New Music Series “officially” began in 1991 at the luggage store and is the longest standing experimental music series in the Bay Area. It is currently co- presented by Outsound Presents… bay area improvisers/sound artists Rent Romus and Matt Davignon.

Admission $6-10 sliding scale. All
ages welcome, no one refused for lack of funds.

Experimental musicians (new sonic, improvised, noise, electronic, lowercase, avant-jazz, outrock, 21 century compositions, and sonic art) who are interested in performing as part of the Thursday night series at The Luggage Store Gallery are invited to contact the Collective for further information. The series is booked 2 to 3 months in advance and artists should be prepared to submit a recording for consideration.

Presents…The Luggage Store Gallery Music Series is an artist-run/grass-roots DIY effort. We book 2 to 3 months in advance.

There is no guaranteed payment, hotel accomodations, transportation, no acoustic piano, no sound person. Must start by 8:10pm. 2 groups per evening. The luggage store and provide free advertising, and a percentage from the door: 70% goes to the musicians (divided equally by 2 sets). A PA is available (mixer, two speakers, no reference monitors) Setup begins at 7pm. Realistically, little money is made and the Series runs through the passion of its volunters.

We are also happy to have volunteer help with the series (setup chairs, curtain, lights, or make/distribute flyers etc.), documentation, etc. please contact us at 415 255 5971 or contact

We also want to thank with great joy the past artist-curators and volunteers of this series:
Ernesto Diaz-Infante
Sean Rooney
Steev Hise
Scott Looney
Matt Ingalls
Damon Smith
Bob Boster
Melissa Metrick
Jon Brumit
Jeff Chan

(send us a note if you had presented at the series over the past 16 years, we’d love to hear from you)

Past performing artist sample list @ the
LSG New Music Series:
Past performers have included such eclectic artists as Cecil Taylor, Miya Masaoka, Alan Silva, Carl Stone, Biggi Vinkeloe, Joe McPhee, Janet Feder, Peter Kowald, Henry Kaiser, Fred Frith, Gino Robair, Koji Asano, Andrea Neumann, Axel Dorner, Kitundu, Pamela Z, Wolfgang Fuchs, Amy Denio, Jason Kahn, Eddie Prevost, Karen Stackpole, Ernesto Diaz-Infante, Gianni Gebbia, Karen Borca, Oluyemi Thomas, Saadet Turkoz, Yasuhiro Otani, Eddie Gale, Jim Ryan, Dina Emerson, Burton Green, Jane Rigler, Jack Wright, Assif Tsahar, CJ Reaven Borosque, Glenn Spearman, Danielle DeGruttola, Bob Marsh, Shoko Hikage, Bob Ostertag, Xome, Randy Yau, Stimbox, Kaffe Matthews and countless others both local and international.